Long Time No See

Hello, everyone!

Yes, I failed my previous reviewing schedule. I’m already disappointed in myself for not keeping up with what I said I was going to do. I have made it one of my goals for 2020 to once again get back into reading and reviewing books.

However, I can’t guarantee how often I will be doing so. I currently have college classes starting up in a little less than a week, which will definitely leave less time for reading as I have to prioritize my education sadly.

What I’m going to say is that I will attempt to post at least one review each month until the summer, which might mean I’ll be reviewing a little more than that. I’ve missed reading and I want to get back to it as much as I can.

For those of you that are awaiting reviews from me for your book, please don’t be worried! I have not forgotten you and I am planning on getting to all of your books in due time. While I still have time before college starts again, I’ll be trying to get through as many of them as I can and will continue to do so after.

Thank you for continuing to follow Purely by Faith Reviews! I appreciate every one of you ❤

– Chloe

Esme’s Wish (Esme Series, #1) by Elizabeth Foster

9781925652246-Cover.indd

This was her last chance.
Her hand twisted high in the air.

When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father’s wedding, her protest is dismissed as the action of a stubborn, selfish teenager. Everyone else has accepted the loss of Esme’s mother, Ariane—so why can’t she?

But Esme is suspicious. She is sure that others are covering up the real reason for her mother’s disappearance—that ‘lost at sea’ is code for something more terrible, something she has a right to know.

After Esme is accidentally swept into the enchanted world of Aeolia, the truth begins to unfold. With her newfound friends, Daniel and Lillian, Esme retraces her mother’s steps in the glittering canal city of Esperance, untangling the threads of Ariane’s double life. But the more Esme discovers about her mother, the more she questions whether she really knew her at all.

Continue reading “Esme’s Wish (Esme Series, #1) by Elizabeth Foster”

Never Say Goodbye by Sarah Grace Grzy

Never Say Goodbye Cover

They say time heals all wounds. But he was finding it a poor painkiller.

Tyler Collens has seen grief and loss in his years of experience as a paramedic—but he never expected it to touch his life in such a personal way. The death of his wife eighteen months ago shook his steady world and changed him in more ways than he can count. Time and routine have steadied his feet, and he looks toward the future as he raises his infant daughter—but the past has a tighter grip on him than he knows.

Alyvia Emmerson has never been certain of who she is or where she belongs. Her dad’s abandonment as a teen broke a fragile piece of her heart, but ten years later, she has moved on. Living on her own, she at last has a project to devote herself to: revitalizing a shabby bookstore. But she didn’t count on her dream job revealing the shattered pieces of herself she thought mended long ago.

In this sophomore novel featuring beloved characters from Live Without You, Sarah Grace Grzy explores themes of grief, hope, and second chances in a story that touches both the heart and spirit.

Continue reading “Never Say Goodbye by Sarah Grace Grzy”

Standoff (Natchez Trace Park Rangers, #1) by Patricia Bradley

53144814._SX318_SY475_

The Natchez Trace National Parkway stretches 444 miles from Nashville to Natchez, the oldest town on the Mississippi River. It’s the perfect road for a relaxed pleasure drive. Unfortunately for Luke Fereday, it’s also perfect for moving drugs.

Sent to Natchez to infiltrate the organization at the center of the drug ring, Luke arrives too late to a stakeout and discovers the body of his friend, park ranger John Danvers. John’s daughter Brooke is determined to investigate her father’s murder but soon finds herself the target of a killer who will do anything to silence her.

Luke will have his hands full keeping her safe. But who’s going to keep him safe when he realizes he’s falling – hard – for the daughter of the man he failed to save?

Continue reading “Standoff (Natchez Trace Park Rangers, #1) by Patricia Bradley”

Moonscript by H.S.W. Williams

Moonscript Front Cover

“It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes into its depths is lost forever. I know this better than anyone. For I have suffered here in the shadows, and there are none who might find me.”

Seventy years. Seventy years the elven prince has been lost to the darkness, assumed dead by his people and endlessly broken for a book that connects to the hidden realm of his ancestors, a land untouched by evil.

And now a light in the shadows. A chance for freedom. But those willing to help him come from the unlikeliest of worlds.

The orphan girl, yearning for a loving family, and the boy who won’t leave her side. A healer maiden given an unexpected chance for a life beyond narrowed expectations. A grieving creature flown far from home.

They all search for something and now their fates are tied to his. If their quest for life can pull him from the dark mire in which his soul drowns, then perhaps he can be saved.

Or else he will drag them all down to a fate worse than death.

The beginning of an epic saga, MOONSCRIPT is a journey of innocence, despair, and redemption.

Seven illustrations by the author exclusively included in the paperback edition!

Continue reading “Moonscript by H.S.W. Williams”

To the Only Boy I’ve Loved Before (Edenvale Arts Academy, #2) by Liwen Y. Ho

2

Spoiler alert: Falling for a hot, older guy can only mean trouble … especially when he’s your bestie’s brother.

Ava

After my parents passed away, music was my only refuge until I came to Edenvale. It was there that I met my BFF, whose family treats me like one of their own. The only downside is Hannah’s overprotective brother who loves to torment me, even to the point of invading my dreams.

If only I were Liam Mitchell’s type.

Liam

It’s senior year, and I should be figuring out my future, but with my dad in jail, I’ve had to step up to take care of my family. The only thing that’s clear is how much I like spending time with Ava Alverson. Adorable, smart, and strong, she’s the only one I can let my guard down with. Too bad we’re stuck in the friend zone.

But not for long.

I’m determined to let her know how I feel and also prove to my sister that I’m good enough to date her best friend.

The Edenvale Arts High School series brings you the sweetness and innocence of young love amidst a backdrop of the performing arts. Combining creativity and romance, this clean and wholesome YA series is perfect for fans of High School Musical and Zombies.

Continue reading “To the Only Boy I’ve Loved Before (Edenvale Arts Academy, #2) by Liwen Y. Ho”

How to Kiss a Guy in Ten Days (Edenvale Arts High School, #1) by Liwen Y. Ho

5DBFDDEC-FBCD-4F27-BCB5-F0F12C1FD6BC

Spoiler alert: It was supposed to be a pretend relationship, so why are they getting all the feels?

Hannah

When my dad went to jail, my world flipped upside down. Even my boyfriend wanted to take a break. But I’ve got a brilliant plan to show him what he’s been missing since he broke my heart.

Enter the cute new guy—Seth Spark.

Seth

When Hannah Mitchell, a girl completely out of my league, asks me to be her fake boyfriend on my first day at Edenvale, I almost lose it. A shy and awkward guy like me would never get any girl’s attention— especially a pretty one.

Never say never.

Now, I only have ten days to convince her to forget about her ex… and to give us a real chance.

The Edenvale Arts High School series brings you the sweetness and innocence of young love amidst a backdrop of the performing arts. Combining creativity and romance, this clean and wholesome YA series is perfect for fans of High School Musical and Zombies.

Continue reading “How to Kiss a Guy in Ten Days (Edenvale Arts High School, #1) by Liwen Y. Ho”

Faith Alone (The Sola Series, #2) by Ruth Meyer

FAITHALONE

Grace Neunaber has finally found happiness. After struggling for years as a single mother of four, she’s thrilled about her newfound faith and her marriage to a strong Christian man. But as David is added to their family of five, her enthusiasm is quickly dampened by her older children’s open hostility and resentment toward their new father.

For Grace’s daughter, Faith, having a principal for a step-dad is only one of the downsides. Her parents are nosy, restrictive, and most of all embarrassing. But Faith’s issues with her parents are quickly shoved aside when she’s faced with a decision that will change the course of her future.

Each member of the Neunaber family will have to rely on their faith in God if their strained relationships are going to knit them closer together instead of tear their family apart.
Continue reading “Faith Alone (The Sola Series, #2) by Ruth Meyer”

Schedule Update

I’m kicking myself right now. I have been inactive on the blog for over a month, and it was my New Years resolution to get back to posting twice a week.

Truthfully, it’s not realistic for me anymore. I have been in a reading slump since maybe September last year, and I have been lacking motivation to post because of that as well as a depression flare-up. I have been a little tired lately, ever since my baby brother was born and can’t read until it’s too late at night. Not to mention, I’m turning 18 soon and I need to focus on my schoolwork and career options… getting my drivers license. Ugh, so many things to do!

So, I decided it might be best to change my schedule to posting every other week on either Tuesdays or Fridays until I know I can juggle the old one. Basically, expect a post twice a month (with blog tours as exceptions) until further notice.

Thank you so much for being patient, everyone, and continuing to follow Purely by Faith Reviews.

– Chloe

 

Dare (The Blades of Acktar, #1) by Tricia Mingerink

dare

Courage could cost him everything.

Third Blade Leith Torren never questions his orders or his loyalty to King Respen until an arrow wound and a prairie blizzard drive him to the doorstep of the girls whose family he once destroyed.

Their forbidden faith and ties to the Resistance could devastate their family a second time.

Survival depends on obedience, but freedom beckons. How far does he dare go to resist the king and his Blades?

No matter what Leith chooses, one thing is certain.

Someone will die.

Continue reading “Dare (The Blades of Acktar, #1) by Tricia Mingerink”