Isolated Blog Tour

Isolated_ebook

“Fourteen-year-old Louise Stella flees into the forest to escape an intruder who would take her hostage. But by the time she returns to her house, her country has broken out in war and her home island has become a military base. Sharing the land with enemy soldiers, Louise’s only goal is to stay alive one day at a time. Having no food or water, and little knowledge of how to survive in the forests of Quebec, her biggest adversary is “the Unknown”. Her pride crumbles and she realizes that she can’t sustain herself. She must depend on someone else… but Whom?
 
Isolated is a Young Adult suspense novella with uncertainty lurking at every turn. It will have you asking the big questions about life and death. Will you come to the same conclusion as Louise?

I’m going to start this post off with the review first.

Pre-order on AmazonGoodreads  / Isolated Landing Page / Author’s Website

Title: Isolated

Series (if applicable): War and Wilderness

Author: Jordy Leigh

Publisher (if applicable): N/A, indie book

Genre(s): Christian, Young Adult, Suspense

My Rating: four stars


My Review:

Wow! This book had so much suspense. I loved it!

From the first page, I was hooked. The survival aspect of the story was interesting and made me realize how hard it would be to survive in nature. Louise resisted God so many times… but it had a great ending. Although now, we’re left on a cliffhanger.
I found it intriguing when Louise almost gave up. It makes me wonder what I’d do if I were in her shoes. This shows that you need God, and with Him, you can get through anything! I can’t wait for the next book in this series to come out… 😀

There could be some scary events that happen, but it’s a great book and I recommend it!


Interview with the Author

1. What inspired you to become an author?

I can’t think of an initial catalyst; I’ve enjoyed writing for as long as I can remember. At first, it was no more than a recreational hobby. Somewhere along the way, however, I slipped into the mindset that I wanted to be published. Perhaps what inspired me to become an author is the reality that there are stories worth telling. The thing that inspires me to continue writing is that there’s a God worth telling about.

2. What inspired you to write Isolated?

A friend told me that I should turn my dream into a book. By ‘dream’ I don’t mean an aspiration or ambition but a literal head-on-the-pillow dream I had one night. I don’t have a habit of telling my dreams to everyone, but I guess this one just came up in the context of our conversation and the rest is history.

 

3. Is Louise based off of a person you know?

Good question. I didn’t intentionally shape her after anyone, but the more I wrote and reviewed, the more I realized that she resembled me – not physically but with regards to personality. I felt she resembled me too closely and took a step away from the manuscript to work and develop her character and make Louise her own unique person.
 

4. Did you need to research certain things to write Isolated?

I did. I read whole portions of Tom Brown’s Field Guide to Wilderness Survival by Tom Brown Jr., as well as a couple of relevant novels – The Cay by Theodore Taylor, and Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe – which both centered around wilderness survival on an island. I’ve also watched numerous YouTube videos on the same topic.

5. How long did it take to plan Isolated?

I honestly can’t remember. I may well have started writing immediately. I do recall taking a break partway through, however, to re-evaluate and spend time planning to fill in the holes that resulted from a lack of sufficient planning prior to writing. I can’t say how long I spent doing that, though.

6. Will Isolated be available in paperback/hardcover in the future?                             God willing. That’s the best I can say right now. I sure hope so, and I want to work towards it, but I’m currently waiting on one key player in that process. Even for self-published authors such as myself, it’s a team effort.

 Thank you Jordy Leigh for the interview!


JordyLeigh(p) From as young as seven years old, Jordy Leigh filled exercise booklets with stories until her hand hurt. She loves a good book, but ultimately she hopes that hers will offer something of greater value than short-lived entertainment. In reading them, may you learn more about the God of the Bible.

Jordy Leigh hopes that Isolated will at once quench your desire for compelling fiction and nourish your soul with wholesome truth.

 

Isolated will be released on September 11! Pre-order it  on Amazon now. 🙂


*I received this book as an Advance Reader e-Copy from the author (Thanks so much Jordy Leigh!) in exchange for an honest review.
This review was written in my own words and opinions.

Purely by Faith Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. The owner of this site will earn a percentage of the money you pay if you click on the link and buy the product.

3 thoughts on “Isolated Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

